Skip to content

David Blough becomes the 64th NFL starting quarterback this year


The NFL acknowledges that it actively enforces the rule that passers-by must not be trolled in order to ensure maximum quarterback health.

Despite these efforts, the Cardinals’ decision to use the more seasoned David “Mr. Plough” Blow over Trace McSorley for Sunday’s game against the Falcons has meant the NFL has had 64 different starting quarterbacks in 17 weeks. means to have As noted by’s Josh Weinfuss, this lines up with his record for a non-strike season set in 2007.

The Bills, Bengals, Jaguars, Chiefs, Chargers, Giants, Vikings, Packers, Lions, Buccaneers and Seahawks all have just one quarterback all season.

It’s not all about injuries. After Watson’s suspension ended, the Browns replaced Jacoby Brissett with Deshawn Watson. The Colts made a business decision regarding Matt Ryan (twice) and the Raiders recently made a business decision regarding Derek Kerr. was eventually benched, as was Marcus Mariota.

Still, most of the Week 1 starters who missed more than one game did so due to injury. And some team backups were also injured. The Cardinals are currently the fourth starter. Nine teams have started three different quarterbacks for him: the 49ers, Titans, Jets, Colts, Dolphins, Patriots, Rams, Panthers, and Texans.

No, it’s not ideal for the NFL. The next question is whether the team can get a top quarterback for the postseason. The 49ers don’t. The Eagles probably (but not) will. The Titans fail as well as they succeed. The Ravens probably won’t. The Dolphins probably won’t if they qualify.